Poetry and Prose

If (You Matter)

If I had an endless supply of ink
I’d probably spill it with every word I think
A continuously flowing line
Syncopated by rhythm and time
An unstructured sentence
That’s vaguely reminiscent
And leaves you caught in the moment

If I had the vocabulary
I’d ramble incoherently
To the point where I question
Whether a spark is connection
I’d over think each conversation
Slowly elating with anticipation
But thank you for participating

If I could use a thunderous voice
To cut through the incessant noise
I’d quiet the chatter
Just to whisper you matter

-D.A. Baker

Leave a Reply

