Poetry and Prose

Getting To Know

She asked me what I wanted to know
And in the moment I froze.
Choked on the thoughts in the formation of words.
What do I want to know?
Where do I begin?

I want to know where you got your start,
The little boys who broke your heart.
I want to know the passion that drives you
Your secrets, hopes, the feelings that move you

I want to know your favorite foods
The song for each particular mood
I want to know the sounds in your voice
The change in tone, pitch, and word choice

I want to know the fire in your soul
The fears and tears that you hold
I want to know what makes you scream
What drives you crazy, your definition of obscene

I want to know your dreams and fantasies
How you fall for someone romantically
I want to know the things that make you grin
What makes laughter leave from within

What do I want to know?
How much time do you have?
I want to know everything you want to share
And I’ve got plenty to spare

-D.A. Baker

Leave a Reply

