Poetry and Prose

Maybe

Maybe I couldn’t formulate
The particular words to say
How the floor of this cave
Will never feel the same.
How the laughter that echoed
Through those walls
Now echo in a different kind of hall.
That tears held in their place
By smiles and embraces
Will fall within this empty space.

Maybe I was afraid
That you didn’t see
What you mean to me
Even if I wanted to believe
I always knew, underneath
It would never be
But to watch you leave
Made me fight to breathe.

Maybe I was selfish
To want you to stay
Holding on to what I had
But even if I begged you
What could I say
Knowing it couldn’t change
I let you walk away

-D.A. Baker

Leave a Reply

